Articles I Like

With a background in Psychology, working at the Social Psychology department at Tilburg University, and with an interest in replication, this is what my Filter Bubble looks like (May 2013):

“OH MY GOD, THIS DOESN’T REPLICATE (Bargh), THAT DOESN’T REPLICATE (Dijksterhuis), THIS STUDY IS FLAWED (fist-clenching), THAT STUDY IS FLAWED (gaming and dyslexia), BOTH ARE UNDERPOWERED, WE NEED POST-PUBLICATION REVIEW AND PLOS ONE ALLOWS IT, YES BECAUSE THAT REPLICATION ATTEMPT IS FLAWED (Dijksterhuis), SO WE SHOULD PRE-REGISTER THEM, BUT WAIT WHAT CONSTITUTES A FAILURE TO REPLICATE (Srivastava), AND WHAT IS SOCIAL PRIMING (Zwaan), AND STAPEL AND THE NYT HAVE SOMETHING TO SAY ABOUT ALL THIS, REALLY? (Nussbaum)”

I can’t even begin to link to all the blog posts that have been written on these topics. I really like reading (most of) them. Most discussions are extremely interesting and make me feel like science might be changing quicker than anyone can anticipate or predict. I might even say that I feel like we’re in this ‘defining moment of history’ and I’m excited to see where all of this is heading. So, I am in no way suggesting that there should be less talk about all of the above.

Nevertheless, as a young student (3 years into my PhD-project), I also like to read and think about articles that provide solid empirical contributions that replicate, and that have important implications. Therefore, it would be great to read more posts that applaud papers. It’s been a while since I’ve read such a post (for an exception, see this post on a paper by my colleagues) and I think there are at least 2 explanations for this:

1. I only follow psychology / JDM people on Twitter and in blogs that talk about how science is changing.

2. Most online discussions in Psychology / JDM really just focus on the replication-preregistration-postpublicationreview kind of things in my bubble.

In any case, I thought I’d add a page to my website where I list Articles I Like. It’ll help me (and hopefully others) remember that there are many articles worth reading. Some because they provide intelligent insights, others because they present interesting datasets and analyses. I plan to update that list every now and then but you can check out the articles I remember I liked here. Finally, if you have any blogs or twitterers you think I should follow, please let me know in the comments!

About Job van Wolferen

PhD-student at TIBER / Tilburg University. Research: Moral hazard and fraud in the insurance industry. Interested in behavioral economics and JDM
This entry was posted in All and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Articles I Like

  1. Great post. It is indeed important to stay focused on the fact that many findings in psychology are reliable, even though there might be a higher number of findings that aren’t. It’s hard to gauge the proportion at this point, but there are concrete changes that are happening right now at the systemic and individual level that leads me to believe that this will soon change!

    • Thanks Etienne! The reproducibility project and http://www.p-curve.com, as well as individual replication projects will definitely help in estimating the true-positive:false-positive ratio in the field. I hope that we will soon identify a bunch of solid effects and possibly theories of human behavior!

Leave a Reply

